Friday, April 10, 2009

Easter Eggs

We did our Easter Eggs today before P went to work, so tomorrow we can celebrate his birthday before he has to go to work tomorrow afternoon, with lunch after the girls' dance classes. He has to close on Easter too, so we'll have to have a quick lunch on Sunday too. My feet are going OK, I've probably been on them too much today since I've had to increase the pain meds. It has codine in it, I am feeling a little itchy, not very fun.

Thursday, April 9, 2009

Surgey went well

There was some concern about my knee and how bruised and swollen it is, and my blood being too thin, but thankfully the surgery did happen. My knee is getting a little better, bending just it just hurts. I need to walk to keep the fascia in my feet from tightening up. P went to Fry's to get my pain meds. I feel OK, right now, but I don't want to wait too long before taking something. On to recovery and praying the surgery will take and I'll be able to walk pain free.

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

All the DBCC women at the retreat

One with our prayer shaws and one with out.

Saturday, April 4, 2009

I'm not sure how the week went by so fast

I'm tired, getting a cold (I think, my throat has been sore for days and today my nose is runny and stuffed up) My feet hurt, and my back is messed up again. And today my right knee is a little swollen and stiff from a fall I had last night. Luckily it was at the very end (clean up) of the school carnival. S helped her teacher with face painting to earn a partial scholarship for the 6th grade overnight field trip. Which is a good thing because, we just had to buy her a new retainer, because I didn't know it was in the sink and after I did the dishes when I got home from the retreat on Sunday I turned on the garbage disposal and heard an crunching noise. So not good. Anyway back to the carnival P was off so he kept an eye on the girls while I served snow cones all night. I was supposed to be in charge of the craft table but because of the wind crafts didn't happen. I wasn't sure if maybe the whole thing should have been postponed because of the wind, it was pretty windy. But I'm glad it worked out and is over. The kids had a great time.

Sunday, March 29, 2009

Home

I had a fun and Spirit filled weekend with 110 other women from church. I rode up north with 2 other ladies Friday afternoon. It certainly was much cooler in Herber than it was this weekend in Phoenix and man was it windy Friday night and this morning. The food was great, bed comfortable (even though I couldn't fall asleep at all Friday night). I felt very blessed to pray and minister to my small group. P had to go off to work, I got to see him for just a few minutes, and he has to close the next several nights, I think I may see him again on Wednesday night :(

Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Who Knew?

That you need to have a permit for at least 6 months before you can get a license? J said he knew that, but of course didn't tell me until after the lady at the DMV told us. He'll need to wait until after April 17th to get his license.

16 Candles!

Happy 16th Birthday to my first born! I remember staring at this long newborn and wondering how did he fit inside of me? This is a recent picture of the 2 of us. After school today we are planning to go to the DMV for him to get his driver's license. He's pretty excited, to say the least.

Monday, March 23, 2009

what a mess

Why is it when you envision something it rarely turns out the way you see it in you mind? This was J's cake I made for his birthday. I didn't know I was going to need 2 cake mixes for my pan, so I had to run to Fry's after I realized that mistake. The cakes raised too high, so I had to trim them both down. I used candy melts to make the "liner" only it broke when I tried to put the cake inside of it. Luckily the cake didn't split too, or I think I would have gotten so mad, I would have thrown the whole mess in the trash. I couldn't believe it took so long to make something to easy.

Saturday, March 21, 2009

coming home early

J went hiking/camping this weekend with his scout troop. They were supposed to be home late tomorrow afternoon. He called about an hour ago saying they were on their way home. He said they decided to come home a day early. Then he mentions he fell and hurt his knee. (he said they had decided this before he got hurt, but it makes me wonder) The opposite one from the one he hurt at camp a few years ago. He doesn't think he needs to go to the ER, I'll look at it to know for sure. We have an abundance of knee braces, (2, but he only needs one) and he still has his crutches so he'll be able to stay off of it for a few days if he needs to. I thought R and I would have a quite night just the 2 of us, with P at work and S spending the night with Aunt Jul. I guess not. update- 8:30 PM- he's home and the knee looks a little swollen, he has a brace on it and is icing it, I felt around and didn't feel any movement like if he broke his knee cap. We'll see how he does the rest of the night and tomorrow morning, then we can decide if we need to take him to the doctor's office. Rest and ice it is my prescription for him. Dr. MOM that I am. HA!

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

goofiness

I either didn't take my sleeping pill last night or it didn't work, I was up most of the night. Around 2 when I still wasn't all that sleepy I should have taken one, but didn't. I thought if I just laid down I would fall asleep. I was wrong. P had to work at 7 this morning. He told me goodbye before he left and the next thing I know is I hear someone rustling around in my bed. So I as "who's that in my bed?" P answers. I have terrible thoughts run through my head before he has a chance to explain that it's only 5 AM. he set his alarm for 3 instead of 5 and didn't notice what time it was until he went out to the car to drive to work and the clock in his car says 4:57. Needless to say he laid back done for a few hours before going to work for real. He did offer to watch a movie with me, since we were both awake but I thought he should get a little more sleep.

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

Fun Days

Sunday Pat took the kids with J's scout troop to the Reinesson's (someday I really need to learn how to spell this!) Festival. I had the day to myself. I went to church, then out to lunch came home read and took a little nap. I sent my camera with them for them to record the day for me, but for some reason they forgot it in the car, All I have is pictures of them in their costumes they wore to the festival when they got home. Yesterday we went to the zoo and indoor aquarium it was a fun spring break day for all. I'm still recovering today. I have things I want to do, but I'm thinking it might not be until at least tomorrow before I start them! I posted a few pictures on flickr on the left side bar.

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Is it Spring Break Yet?

I am pretty ready for it to be. Don't get me wrong I really love what I do and the child I spend most of my day with, she has made such progress from where she was in the beginning of the year, just in so many areas, today I tested her ability to toilet (this was from a meeting we had about her yesterday) and she did great! She's going to do so well in 1st grade, she'll always be a little slower than her piers, but she's getting there. My neck and back back have been messed up most of the week. My personal RX for Spring Break is to sleep in, do a few activities with the whole family, and scrapbook some. I'm even getting together with a friend on Friday morning to help motivate me in this scrapbooking goal (I haven't worked on anything in about a year :( ). Just one more work day and tomorrow shouldn't be so bad since the kindergartners and 1st graders are going to The Phoenix Children's museum. That should be fun! I am looking forward to it.

Saturday, March 7, 2009

April 9th

I finally heard from the surgery scheduling girl yesterday. The first available day the doctor can do the surgery on my feet is April 9th. I really thought she was going to offer me later dates in April, so I was happy to hear the 9th. The only thing I thought of when I said that date was fine was, S's field trip is a month from then so I should be healed pretty well and have little trouble walking. When I told P when it was today, he says,"happy birthday to me". Then it occurs to me, that the weekend following the surgery is his birthday and Easter weekend. I didn't mean to do that! But I didn't mean for any of this feet problems either, or that no other treatments worked for it. I will have "boots" for each foot, so I'll be able to get around, just how fast, and how comfortably will remain to be seen. I should have some lovely pain medicine too. Another bright side of the 9th is I won't have to take the Friday after the surgery off because it's Good Friday and it's already a paid day off for me.

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Surgery?

6 weeks ago, I had my last cortisone shots in both feet. After a few days following that I had 4 wonderful pain free weeks. Then the pain started again. I drove on hour after school today to see my foot doctor. It's no longer a matter of wanting surgery but when he can do it. He's scheduled already into April. If it's not early in April I won't be able to do it until after May 8th, S has an over night field trip, I'm already scheduled for. I get paid to go, of course I'll be working, but really it won't be much of a difference even if I just went as a parent. The doctor did offer to do both feet at the same time. Which I am very glad about. I only have to go through the worry of surgery and recovery once. I sure hope AZ makes enough money to put cop cars all down the freeway in some spots it seemed like ever mile, that backs up traffic. I did see one car being pulled over, it was in the carpool lane, which of course during rush hour, is the only lane that is moving. The worst part of that is, the car and the cop car had to stop the other 3 lanes to pull over. Ridiculous. It seemed to me that caused more of an accident waiting to happen cars driving a little to fast. My neck and shoulders are sore and tight from all the driving.

Friday, February 27, 2009

Amazing

Yesterday afternoon, I realized it was Thursday already, and how fast the week seem to have flown by. In comparison to last week anyway. How weird of a thought that seemed at the time since I only worked 3 days last week, it should have seemed longer this week. The difference was when you are sick or not feeling 100%, time seems to stand still. Of course today although the day went by pretty fast, I am stating to get sick again. Not the horrid stomach issues, but cold symptoms. J and I were flopped together on the couch after school comparing symptoms. Dinner was frozen waffles, I didn't feel like cooking and I couldn't convince him to either. I think it's time to teach S how to cook, more than her limited items she can cook.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

I forget

It occurred to me today, after S and I stopped and did a little errand after school, when we got home the house was locked, very strange for J to lock the house when he gets home, just ahead of us. Then it dawned on me, he asked me to pick him up today. I don't remember why he needed to stay after school today. P pulled in the driveway right after I figured out why J wasn't here, he went to go get him. Geez, my memory is not what it used to be.

Monday, February 23, 2009

Finally!

I am finally feeling better! Yesterday it felt like I turned a corner in the whole stomach illness. Saturday was a busy day with much driving around. Yesterday was more relaxing, I met P and the kids at church at 11, because I had to teach the toddlers during the first service, there were 19- 2 and 3 year olds, which is quite a lot for that age frame (I think anyway), I wasn't alone, but I was the main teacher. I tried to take a nap during service, but J kept waking me up! Then later we were watching something together and he kept making sure I was awake. The nerve! I needed a nap! I'm starting to really have fun with Facebook, I have found a few friends I went to High School with, (and one so far I went to elementary school with, and she was one of my girl friends that was part of my slumber party crowd of about 10 of us, that always got together for sleepovers for our birthdays, for 6-7 years.) I've also been in contact with friends from our old church which is way cool too.

Saturday, February 21, 2009

When will the nauseousiness get better?

This is one long lasting bug. I did go to school Thursday and Friday, but felt terrible, and I can't seem to tolerate drinking anything except Sprite. At least I'm not throwing up any more. I haven't eaten a whole lot, however last night P was eating chips and they looked good so I had some, I was encouraged that some food looked good, but again today nothing is looking very good.

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

YUCK

After lunch today I started feeling nauseous. We live a half a mile from school. That little ride was just enough to push my stomach over the edge. I threw up in the driveway, on the way out of the car. Not a little, but a lot. Luckily J was home and moved the car and hosed down the driveway for me. I still feel terrible. I hope this doesn't last. I'd really like to go to bed, but R still needs picked up from school and J has scouts tonight, and P is at work wah..........

Saturday, February 14, 2009

What a Week

It's been an incredibly long week here in this household. Doctor's appointments for me, extra long after school program days for R and 2 during school Opendance performances for R and one evening performance too, plus I helped back stage during the school performances. J's scout meeting. PTO craft night that I put together with no real help other than the PTO secretary getting the flyer copied and her selling tickets at the door. Wednesday was one long day, with being at school all day, then dance, 30 minutes for dinner before having to be back at school to set up, luckily I took J with me to set up, I would never have been able to set up tables by myself ot been ready before families showed up at 6:30. Last night P and I went out for dinner for Valentine's Day, then we came home and watched The Express with the kids, one long movie, not my favorite football movie. J was supposed to go camping/hiking with his scout troop this weekend, but because of snow up north, they postponed it, so the troop is off bowling this afternoon. I have a pot roast in the crock pot, and R and I made chocolate covered strawberries and chocolate chip cookies for dessert for Valentine's Day. Check out the new pictures on Flickr

Saturday, February 7, 2009

Cardnial

Our whole school made these hats the week before the Super Bowl and worn them on Friday, outside morning announcements was a sea of red bird heads,. S was kind enough to pose for me in her's.

Friday, February 6, 2009

pillow cases

Every birthday the girls have had slumber parties they've gotten a new pillow case decorated by their friends. Here's both girls with their cases from this year.

facial part 2

We just went with the chocolate and honey masks, but I made up a blueberry oatmeal one, that worked out way better. R had to do both.

cupcakes and cake

I attempted the butterfly cupcake cake again this week, it turned out a little better. I made a separate cake for S since we were having family over dinner, before R's friends came to spent the night. There's way too much cake left over, but one cake wouldn't have been quite enough.

Thursday, February 5, 2009

Happy Birthday Baby!

My baby is 9 today! It just seems so remarkable that it was 10 years ago, when we were tying for baby #3, and now she's 9! I love you R!

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Changed my mind

Near the end of the football game, when things were still open for either team. I cared who won. Not by which team, but which family member it would harder to live with if his team lost. His team won. Thank goodness.

What side?

I've been pondering this for the past week. What football team should I root for? And really does it really matter to me anyway. I've never followed football. But I have been to both Steeler and Cardinal games in those home towns. Not to watch the football per say, but to be with the people I went with and of course people watch, which is way more interesting than football, any day. The Steelers will always hold warm nostalgic feelings of growing up in Pennsylvania, the same as The Cardinals will have for my daughters. Not caring to chose sides, I borrowed one of P's t-shirts that has both teams on it to wear today, and I have new book to read when I get bored with the game, which will be right after kick-off I'm sure.

Friday, January 30, 2009

facials

S wanted to do facials tonight with her friends, first we tried an oatmeal/brown sugar was a flop, in more ways than one, like all over the floor mostly. The chocolate/honey one felt smooth on our faces and the drips were yummy!

cupcakes!

The butterfly cake is really 12 cupcakes that were baked in a mold and then I put the pieces together and tried to frost them so they looked like a cake. Next time I make one, (oh probably next week for R's birthday I'll try to frost a little better in between the cakes so it looks more like a whole cake. I was happy for my first attempt.

12!!!!!!!!!!!!

A certain little girl around here is 12 today! Happy Birthday Pretty Girl! I love you!

Monday, January 26, 2009

Sweating

If I don't have a fever, why would I sweat all day long? I don't know what the deal is, but I was so freaking hot all day at school today. Other than when I went outside and it was so cold. Which I'm sure will help this illness to get better. Not being able to stop sweating just makes me nervous because of the adrenal tumor I had. I still have lots of sinus pressure and because of the antibiotics I think I have a yeast infection. It has not been a very fun day. I mostly rested all weekend, and I took Friday off, I would have hoped I was better today.

Thursday, January 22, 2009

sick again, whiny- update 3 PM

I am so tired of there being something wrong with me, it is making me nuts. Last night before I went to bed, I noticed my cheeks getting very red. I woke up this morning at 4 and couldn't fall back to sleep. By 8, my cheeks felt like they were on fire and my stomach starting hurting. I had the school nurse check my temp. because of course no thermometer could be found at home. I didn't have a temp. but she noticed I was breathing really hard, and my legs and feet seemed swollen. She is awesome, she knows my history and really thinks I should go in and see my doctor today. The first appointment I could get is at 1:15, but I left school at 10:15 so I could rest of a little bit before going. My cheeks are less red, but my stomach still hurts, and now my throat hurts, but maybe that's because I didn't get enough sleep. I guess it was a good day to leave early because the little one I am with most of my day wasn't at school today, and I have sick days hours I can use so I won't be short on hours, but still I'm am so frustrated that I am sick once again. At the very least it seems like I have a sinus infection, but my throat didn't look to good either so the doctor did a throat culture. Antibiotics no matter what. She ordered an ultrasound of both my legs just to be sure there isn't a blood clot, which I'm sure there isn't since I'm on blood thinners, but she wants to be sure. She thinks I should wear support sticking for the viscous vein that is getting worse on my left leg. Since I was there and she was doing such a through job I asked her to look at my belly button that still hurts and it sticking out some, the first thing she asks me is "am I pregnant?" I would love to have been a few years ago, but really, unlikely with a husband that had a vasectomy 8 and a half years ago, I had a ablation over 2 years ago (which wouldn't stop a pregnancy but make it more complicated), and being 42 would make it highly improbable. Who knows what caused this hernia to develop, I had one on the right side of my belly button when I was pregnant with S, which was fixed when I had the tumor removed when S was 18 months. I've decided to wait and see if it gets bigger or feels worse before I do anything about it.

Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Prayerful day for....

1. My nephew left early this morning for basic training for the next 5 months 2. United States new president 3. My foot doctor's appointment 4. My niece and her flight to Germany. the flight should take off any minute now. to teach on a military base, and will be home in early June. 5. My friend's daughter who has barely recovered for pneumonia now has a serous case of strep. Today was our school's 100th day of school, so in the kindergarten classroom I was in there were lots of projects and not a whole lot of learning, so I had lots of time to be in a spirit of prayer. Plus the over 2 hours I spent driving to the doctor's office and home again. The doctor did give me shots and man did they hurt. In six weeks when I go back if there is no improvement we will talk about doing the major surgery. AT this point I really don't care I just want to be able to walk.

Friday, January 16, 2009

I am so sick of my feet hurting

The foot surgery I had done over the summer on my right foot did nothing long term. I had some relief for a small amount of time, then I had cortisone shots in both feet, and had relief for about 2 weeks. I haven't been back to the foot doctor since Oct. I've just been putting it off. Tuesday I have an appointment after school. I can't live like this any more. I hate walking around all day, I spent an enormous amount on shoes from Foot Solutions right before Christmas hoping that would help. And I wear my orthotics which are terrible. A friend suggested gellins. I had never heard of them before, but saw a commercial for them last night, so i"ll look for them. I am so desperate for relief. I know my next step is a much bigger surgery, where I will not be able to bear weight on my feet for several weeks. And there is no guarantee it will even work. And I doubt I can have both feet done at the same time. UGH, MY FEET HURT!

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Bummer

R felt terrible at school today. She doesn't have a fever, just a bad headache and feels like she's going to puke. P is at work, I got to come home early with her. Thursday is my easiest day to leave early so that worked out. I feel like I'm playing hookie. It's kinda fun.

Friday, January 9, 2009

My feet hurt and I'm tired

It's been a long week. Stressful at work everyday but Wednesday. S stayed home from school yesterday, she said she was sick, but fine by the time I got home. P had to work late yesterday, so it wasn't a big of a deal for her to stay home. R stayed home "sick" today, I think she was just tired. P works late again tonight. My cold is almost gone finally other that my nose is still runny. But I developed a sore belly button. I'm not sure what's causing this pain, and it seems hard? Very weird. I had my blood level checked yesterday and it was still good! I must go rest for a little bit before the kids and I met with P's family for my sister-in-law's birthday dinner.

Tuesday, January 6, 2009

Escort service

Yesterday morning S decides we can take the neighbor girl who I don't get paid to take to school, to school. And we have to pick her up. Which wouldn't be that big deal if the girls would just get in the car right away when I ask. Yesterday afternoon I ask J if he has any homework. He says no. This morning he hands me a paper to fill out while I was getting dressed, so therefore missed the bus. P had to work today at 7, and made sure J had his ROTC uniform on before he left for work, to make sure for me he wouldn't miss the bus. But he did anyway. I was mad, and usually when I'm mad that he's missed the bus I wait until the afternoon to talk to him about it. I couldn't stand it this morning. We had a conversation (one sided) on the way to school about getting papers filled out, would in fact be homework, if it is do the next day. I get home barely have tine for breakfast before leaving for work, when S tells me we are picking up neighbor girl. I was so freaking mad, I couldn't even talk to any of them!

Monday, January 5, 2009

First day back

was a drag to get up in the morning, then when we get to school my lunch got left in the car. Which at least it came to me before I actually started my day. But still having to walk back to the car was a drag. Then I forgot about a meeting we were having after school today, what a drag, I was supposed to go have my blood level checked again, The meeting it's self was good, and it was great to see once again how well we are respected by the spec. ed teachers. After a quick dinner of leftovers and putting tomorrows turkey soup in the crock pot, I laid done and watched silly TV with the girls, and slept for a few hours. Now if I could get them to sleep now I think I could go back to sleep.

Sunday, January 4, 2009

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!! It's almost over

I can't stand how fast the break went, How could it go by so fast? I think another week off would be so much better. The girls spent some time getting their backpacks ready and lunches packed. I still am not feeling 100% so I am hoping I'll wake completely healed in the morning. R and I managed to go out and see a movie Friday afternoon together, but she also really wanted to go to As you Wish and paint something, I just couldn't do it. I tried explaining to her how much more fun it would be to go when I'm not going to get short with her, because of how I am feeling. There was just too many days during our break all I wanted to do is stay in bed, we had lots of family movie times, but the one thing I really wanted to do was to go check out the new aquarium. Someday soon... Planning that with me not feeling great and football games didn't go well. The girls and I went to Justice today for them to spend some money they had which too forever for them to decide what they "had" to have. Funny how when it's their money it takes much longer to decide than when it's my money they are spending! Then we went to Kohl's were R finds shoes she must have. I don't think she needs them at $50. Did she get them? What do you think? We stopped a Freddy's for an early dinner, just us girls but we brought back almost all the fries for the guys. That meal was the only one I wanted to try today, I had some major issues with my stomach yesterday. And it didn't disappointment me after I ate my burger. Hopefully that issue will resolve itself soon so I can get rid of the coughing and runny nose next.

Thursday, January 1, 2009

Happy New Year!

I am much to tired to post anything from our celebration. But I promise to update later. Maybe after a few hours of sleep, maybe a few days of sleep! I dragged myself out of bed at 12 to fix a New Year's meal for all of us before P went to work at 3:30. I was smart enough to start things yesterday, (like I baked the turkey) but it still took a little while to get it all on the table. We had a very nontraditional meal of all our Thanksgiving favorites. Thankful for a New Year meal. Plus I'm thankful for having leftovers for the rest of the weekend. The kids and I spent the evening at my sister's house last night playing games, P made it to her house 6 minutes before midnight. When we got home we had out traditional toasts. The kids and I have been putting away all the Christmas decorations, the tree still needs some work and there are boxes all over the family room floor, until P and J can get them in the attic, and Pa will need to take the tree out. While I love decorating the house for Christmas, I also love putting it all way on New Year's Day and enjoying a less cluttered house.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Movie review

Although we've been off and there's several movies we want to see. This afternoon we finally made it to the first one. Marley and Me. Very sweet movie that you laughed at, related to and cried. I only sneezed a few times too! Now I am feeling very wore out.

Blah

But so far a little better today, I hope anyway. I didn't leave my room for much time yesterday. Mostly just for water and food. I did finish reading the Nicholas Sparks book I got for Christmas (in between naps that is) and I went through an almost entire box of tissues. It's totally not fun being sick when you are on vacation.

Friday, December 26, 2008

Wonderful

Christmas was wonderful although I had to wake everyone up at 9. We read our traditional Christmas story before opening gifts. Left the house a huge mess and headed over to my sister's for brunch. Came home and straighted the house a little, showered then headed out to P's brother's house. The cold I was catching managed to stay away all day yesterday. Today not so lucky, (stuffy head, runny nose and the like). P had to go to work this afternoon, but he managed a little play in before he left. Check out the few pictures I posted of our day on the flickr photos on the left tool bar.

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

Merry Christmas!

This is us on the way to church this afternoon. Now will be having pizza for dinner and either playing games or watching a movie together. The vote is still out.

Monday, December 22, 2008

No cavities x 2 and cold

The 2 oldest kids and myself had dentist appointments today. 2 out of 3 of us didn't have any cavities the third one has 2. I'm sure it has to do with his lack of brushing. S also had to go to the orthodontist this afternoon. It took all of about 2 seconds for him to adjust her retainer. Unfortunately the office is in Scottsdale so the whole trip took an hour. I am trying not to get a cold, but I think I'm losing. In between dental offices I tried to rest, but couldn't stop coughing. S and I stopped at Walgreen's on the way home and picked up some cold medicine. I think I have everything I wanted to get done before Christmas done, so I can spend a few days relaxing/getting well before the big day.

Saturday, December 20, 2008

Success!

Our church "adopts" 30 families from the elementary school I work at and the girls attend. 27 of those families and several from our own church family attended the Christmas party the Angel Tree team (myself and 2 others put together, that was over saw by one of the pastors)this afternoon. While we had a few cliches, everything went according to plan and the families who are really struggling this year were blessed. Yea, God!

For maybe the second time...

In 17 Christmas's P and I have been together, he's off on Christmas Eve (I'm just not sure about the year I was pregnant with R, I know he went to the Christmas Eve church with us, but not sure if he was off the whole day or not.) The first few years of our marriage I would have to work during the day (of Christmas Eve) and he worked at night, and I'd have to work a few hours on Christmas Day, but he would have to work most of the day, when J was a baby, I remember taking him with me to work. (a perk of being a manager I guess) This year will be one to remember, not only is he off on Christmas Eve, and the store is closed on Christmas Day. Yea!!!

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Victory!

In the Deer Valley School District grades are given at the end of the semesters instead of quarters. I am so darn proud proud of J for finishing 18 weeks and just barely missing making honor roll by just a couple of points because of his language arts grade (the other classes are honor roll worthy!) It's been so long for J to even come near honor roll. S of course made honor roll and R earned straight A's. Yea! I am so proud of them all!

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Almost done

I am so excited I think I'm almost done with my Christmas wrapping. There's a few DVD's I still need to get, but I feel so much better about having the wrapping done. Tomorrow is the last day of school until January 5, 2009. 17 wonderful days off. There's much to do the first 4 days, but the 5th day I'm not getting out of my pajamas all day! Then it will be Christmas Eve, YEAH!!!!!

Monday, December 15, 2008

Transfer

After 27 years of working at the same location, and 16 1/2 years closer to another location, P was transferred to the store by our house. Today is his first day there. I just looked up the phone number there to call him, because I just got home and the house feels so cold. Maybe it just feels cold because it's cold (for Phoenix) and damp outside. It's 71 degrees inside, which in the summer would feel stifling. I went today to have my blood level checked again today after school, and it was at a perfect number! Yeah, hopefully it will stay there for 2 weeks until I have it checked again.

Sunday, December 14, 2008

Snow Queen Pics

Family shot minus J :(, S and R with their Grandpa, Cousins, S and R, part of the cast shot.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Creepy

We ended up not buying the correct amount of tickets for the Snow Queen shows. It left us 1 adult short for the 2 PM show today, and 2 extra tickets for tomorrow's shows and J doesn't get to see his sisters and cousins at all. J was gone all day, I've been home alone for about 5 hours now. I had several projects I was working on at first. and then when they were done, I planned on resting/relaxing for a few hours. I know houses make noises, and there are lots of outside noises coming it, and I've always been OK with this by myself. However, today I was jumpy. And a little freaked out. Maybe J was to last night when he was home alone and that explains why the TV was so loud, or maybe not, he is a teenager. I think I wouldn't have been so freaked out if P would not have said not to leave the "big" Christmas gift in the house after it's wrapped, in case we get broken into again. Thanks a lot buddy. Made me much more alert to souds, and not at all relaxing.

Friday, December 12, 2008

Long week

Lots of drama at school this week, nothing I can get into here on the blog, I'm just saying too much drama adds for long stressful days. Monday night I was so thankful I didn't have to go out anywhere (J's driver's ed classes are over!) Tuesday night I spent a few hours at my sister's chatting with her and my oldest niece, and holding my great nephew for a little bit. J had his scout meeting there (the boys had to clean and prepare the mistletoe for sale this weekend) Wednesday after the girls' dance classes, we hosted out bible study Christmas potluck. I needed a few things at Fry's afterwards J drove me, then he springs on my how he needs a new jacket and could we go to Kohl's. They are open till midnight till Christmas. I asked J if we could make this painless as possible for me (like making up his mind quickly) While, he was poking around I decide to look around and ended up finishing my Christmas shopping. It was a pretty painful $$$ shopping trip so late at night. Last night I thought I'd take it easy on myself and just do some laundry and start wrapping some gifts. I am a terrible wrapper, and even then it took my a couple of hours and it feels like I've barely started. UGH. This morning I managed to forget to have S take her medicine, didn't put my camera in the car, and a few other things. P who was in bed when we left for school, heard my whining message I left after arriving to school and brought S her medicine. Today after school the girls and I drove downtown for their rehearsal for this weekend's Snow Queen shows. It was tough getting there by 4, when I work until 3:15. But we did it, but a lot of other girls didn't. R kept moving around and couldn't sit still at all, waiting for her turn to dance. S on the other hand sat still but was whispering to me the whole time she wasn't dancing. Basically they drove me nuts. Then there's the whole drive home nightmare. I hate driving at night, I don't know downtown very well at all, I totally get mixed up and confused. It took awhile before I figured out how to get on a freeway to get home, only that didn't start out very fast because of an accident further up the freeway. We made it safely home but my nerves are shot.

Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Saw this at Party of Six (Bold what you have done. I also italicized what I’d still like to do.) 1. Started my own blog 2. Slept under the stars 3. Played in a band 4. Visited Hawaii 5. Watched a meteor shower 6. Given more than I can afford to charity 7. Been to Disneyland/world Both 8. Climbed a mountain Hated it 9. Held a praying mantis 10. Sung a solo long time ago 11. Bungee jumped 12. Visited Paris 13. Watched lightning at sea 14. Taught myself an art from scratch 15. Adopted a child 16. Had food poisoning 17. Walked to the top of the Statue of Liberty 18. Grown my own vegetables 19. Seen the Mona Lisa in France. 20. Slept on an overnight train 21. Had a pillow fight 22. Hitchhiked 23. Taken a sick day when you’re not ill 24. Built a snow fort 25. Held a lamb 26. Gone skinny dipping 27. Run a Marathon 28. Ridden in a gondola in Venice 29. Seen a total eclipse 30. Watched a sunrise or sunset 31. Hit a home run 32. Been on a cruise 33. Seen Niagara Falls in person 34. Visited the birthplace of my ancestors 35. Seen an Amish community 36. Taught myself a new language 37. Had enough money to be truly satisfied 38. Seen the Leaning Tower of Pisa in person 39. Gone rock climbing 40.Seen Michelangelo’s David 41. Sung karaoke 42. Seen Old Faithful geyser erupt 43. Bought a stranger a meal at a restaurant 44. Visited Africa 45. Walked on a beach by moonlight 46. Been transported in an ambulance 47. Had my portrait painted 48. Gone deep sea fishing 49. Seen the Sistine Chapel in person 50. Been to the top of the Eiffel Tower in Paris 51. Gone scuba diving or snorkeling 52. Kissed in the rain 53. Played in the mud 54. Gone to a drive-in theater 55. Been in a movie Just eh home made ones 56. Visited the Great Wall of China 57. Started a business 58. Taken a martial arts class 59. Visited Russia 60. Served at a soup kitchen 61. Sold Girl Scout Cookies for S 62. Gone whale watching 63. Got flowers for no reason 64. Donated blood, platelets or plasma 65. Gone sky diving 66. Visited a Nazi Concentration Camp 67. Bounced a check 68. Flown in a helicopter 69. Saved a favorite childhood toy 70. Visited the Lincoln Memorial 71. Eaten caviar 72. Pieced a quilt 73. Stood in Times Square 74. Toured the Everglades 75. Been fired from a job 76. Seen the Changing of the Guards in London 77. Broken a bone 78. Been on a speeding motorcycle 79. Seen the Grand Canyon in person 80. Published a book 81. Visited the Vatican 82. Bought a brand new car 83. Walked in Jerusalem 84. Had my picture in the newspaper 85. Read the entire Bible 86. Visited the White House not inside 87. Killed and prepared an animal for eating 88. Had chickenpox 89. Saved someone’s life 90. Sat on a jury 91. Met someone famous 92. Joined a book club 93. Lost a loved one 94. Had a baby 95. Seen the Alamo in person 96. Swam in the Great Salt Lake 97. Been involved in a law suit 98. Owned a cell phone 99. Been stung by a bee 100. Ridden an elephant

Sunday, December 7, 2008

opps

My memory is not what it used to be. I thought I remembered to set my alarm for this morning, to be at church for the 9 O'clock service because we were supposed to be at a meeting/party for leaders then. I must have dreamt it because it didn't go off. I heard P around 8 and wondered why he didn't wake me. He didn't feel good he decided not to go, but he didn't wake me to tell me this. I decided then to have a relaxing morning and go to church at 11 with the girls (J was at my sister's house), only at 9:15, I get a call from someone at church asking me were am I because I am supposed to be in charge this morning of the nursery to 3 year olds. As the morning progressed I remembered the conversation from last week about me doing this. But to be fair with myself, I was asked to do 3 different things in the next month and just got them mixed up. OK, so obviously I had not gotten this right, but say I'll be there at 10:30 to do the second service and clean up, which is a pain in the butt, packing everything away since we don't have our own building. I was supposed to over see set up, and felt terrible when I got there and heard it didn't go so well. Had I set my alarm to begin with I would have at least been there for the beginning of the 9 o'clock service and made sure everything was OK. I think it might be easier if I worked every week, then I wouldn't have a problem remembering which week I'm serving and which week I'm not.

Saturday, December 6, 2008

Our tree, a tired girl, and a good reminder

I felt on hold this week in my preparations of getting the house decorated for our life group party and Christmas. And still the week seemed to fly by. (I was on hold waiting for P to get the decorations out of the attic) I thought he'd work on that on Tuesday when he was off, but I was wrong. Thursday when he got off work, I mentioned to him that J would not be home on Saturday when he would be off next (other than getting the tree, which was an all day affair with his Dad on Friday, I knew it would be, it's always an all day affair when he does anything with his Dad), P figured out for himself if he wanted help getting the stuff down and in the house, he needed to do it then. I was much too tried Friday after school to start anything. And I had to have my blood level checked again. It's now higher now than it was a month ago. The nurse suggested not walking into any walls or getting in a car accident, very comforting. NOT. Now I have to go back in a week for a another check, but it won't be for 10 days, because my schedule and the nurses didn't work out. Today after I got up way to early for a Saturday morning, and dropping J off, I started unpacking boxes, woke the girls up for dance, then while S was at dance R and I got quite a lot accomplished. P has been working on the tree since about 1 and may just be finished now. I didn't help at all I've already been struggling with a headache, I really don't want to get so close to the tree.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008

Driving

I am liking J having his permit, and him wanted to drive all the time. This afternoon I had errands to do and he drove. He had fun too, he thanksed me for letting him drive me around :) And he filled up the gas tank, which was the cheapest I have bought gas in a long, long, time. Yeah for lower gas prices! J had his last Driver's ED class last night. The DMV could waive him taking the driving test in March, because of this class. My back is no better, I know I need to schedule a doctor's appointment, I think I'll try my regular family doctor and skip the neurologist, that I saw in Oct. Taking Tylenol all day only slightly dulls the pain, and I'm taking 4 tablets at500 mg 3 times a day. So not good for my liver.

Sunday, November 30, 2008

my aching back

I've been having different issues with my back since about school started in August. I thought it was due to all the new physical strain from working. And it probably is. I can usually take some Tylenol before work and am fine until I get home, not always, some days I am hurting a lot before the end of the day. I did have an MRI in October to see if there is anything new wrong. Nothing new. This weekend I really put a lot of strain on it. Doing too much in such a little time frame. Last night I took some of the heavy pain killers left over from my foot surgery, I'm thinking I need to do the same tonight. We are hosting a small Christmas party on Dec. 10th, thus feeling a time crunch to get the house decorated for Christmas and goodies made. (I'm not sure how much time or energy I'll have after working) Today I started putting away our every day decorations, so I'll be able to out the Christmas stuff out faster when P and J get it out of the attic. I ran out of boxes, so I'm not quite done. I also need to clean, but I'm thinking right now that will have to wait until at least tomorrow.

Thursday, November 27, 2008

Happy Thanksgiving!

Feelings this morning

I am feeling at the moment so thankful no one was home yesterday when we were robbed. And J did not walk into finding them. Thank you God for keeping my family safe. I can't keep thinking about this, and how violated I feel because our stuff was touched. The police didn't get any finger prints, so they must have worn gloves. I have thought of other jewelry that is gone, while it breaks my heart that these irreplaceable things are gone, I can't keep thinking that things could have been so much worse.

Wednesday, November 26, 2008

Theft

Our house got broken in today. While we were all at work and school. J came home to find the house a wreck. He called P, who beat us home by seconds. I'm pretty sure they got in through the back french door, and left through the front door. A few replaceable things, like mine and R's cell phones, S's bike. But irreplaceable rings. My mom's wedding band, the ring that was once a pendent or necklace of my grandmother's, my class ring. R was pretty upset. We went to my friend's house until it was time to go to dance. Then I took the girls to dinner after their classes, while P and J waited for the police. I really hopped the police would have came, but they still haven't came. It could be hours yet P says, since it's not an emergency. Nothing big like TV's, computers, etc.) was taken, but they sure made a mess. They really must have been after cash and jewelry. The house will be a mess until the police come.

Monday, November 24, 2008

I think my memory is going

Yesterday I was going to post and talk about last week, but I was thinking oh no was last Monday the 17th? and I missed going to my book club. Not only was it the 17th, but I went to my book club! None of us read the book, Faukner- The Sound and The Fury. I was strange the first few chapters I read. Before my book club I had a meeting at church. Luckily P was off and made dinner and took J to his driver's ED class. Tuesday all I had to do extra was laundry and take J to scouts. Wednesday the girls had a dance class each, then P and I met some friends for dinner. We left dinner early, so we went to Fry's to pick up a few things. We almost never shop together, it was kinda fun, and felt like a little date. Thursday morning R wakes up not feeling good, I call in sick and stay home with her.(P actually had to work during the day, Rest all day with R really did help my cold get so much better. It's not completely gone, but I'm feeling way better. Friday after work, I had to have my blood level checked, The number went down by a point, but it's still a little to high. I'll be going back again in two weeks to recheck it again. I was starving when I left the doctor's office, I picked up Taco Bell for our dinner on the way home. Sunday we skipped church again, took the girls to their Snow Queen rehearsal. Dropped them off at home, and had J drive to Costco, then he wanted something to eat, so he drove through his first drive thru. I goofed around with my ebay items I sold and finally made it to bed at 10. Way past my bed time. The kids are just getting there second wind then, but I've been trying to teach them responsibiltiy and they know if the goof off at night they have to play the price and be tired the next day, I used to fight with them on it, but why should I then we all would be tired the next day. And that's not so pretty. Must be off now to pick J up from his class.

Friday, November 21, 2008

Can you see much of a differance?

My first Christmas present came yesterday in the mail, I'm not waiting to open it on Christmas morning. I want it now!

Thanksgiving Lunch at school

P can out today to eat lunch with his little girls.

Sunday, November 16, 2008

Last week was Kinda short

But not quite long enough for me to get rid of this stupid cold, that's been dragging on for ever (well not really just kinda feels like it)Monday J had driver's Ed, the girls and I went shopping, while he was there, then S went and spent the night with her oldest cousin. Tuesday J had his 2 hour drive with his driver's ED teacher. He even wanted to drive to his high school to met her, which was a first. He was pumped up about driving, when he got home. He was supposed to march on the Veteran's Day parade with his ROTC class, but they only could take 50 students, and it was the ones who signed up first and sold their quota for the fundraiser they had, got to march. J didn't do well making his quota, if he would have started sooner, he might have made it. It was a tough lesson for him, he really wanted to march in the parade. Wednesday night was the 6th and final 6 weeks in a row bible study meeting. We are going to go out for dinner to celebrate the fact we made it, this week coming up, then take a few weeks off, have a Christmas party, then start back up every other week in January. Sounds very refreshing to me! Thursday Pat was off and I felt terrible, he cooked dinner, and I stayed in our room. I tried to watch all my shows, feel asleep about 15 minutes into one, and woke up for the last 15 minutes of the second one. Watched those 15 minutes then went to sleep for real. Friday I got to go on the kindergarten field trip to the Wild Life Zoo. It weather was lovely until it hit 85 degrees around lunch time. Yesterday was dance and laundry day. I did 8 loads of laundry during the week, how is it the hamper is full again on Saturday? R and I did watch a couple of movies to relax when the laundry was done again. Penelope and Star Wars-Clone Wars. On the way to Snow Queen rehearsals today the girls and I called my big brother in PA to wish him a happy 50th birthday. It was great talking to him, and maybe someday he'll start a blog of his own and I can read about his daily life, and not just him reading mine. DO you get the hint big brother? After rehearsal the girls and I stopped at Big 5 Sporting Goods to get something for J for Christmas, I noticed in their ad this morning something he really wants and it was $15 dollars off, I wanted to get it right away before I forgot, or they sold out of the item. While the girls were off goofing around, I spend 2 hours listing somethings on ebay, to help with my ebay shopping of late. Now I'd like to go off to bed, and dream of not so wacky dreams like I have had the last several nights.

Saturday, November 8, 2008

Scary, doctors, and movies

Monday morning J missed the school bus again. Up until this year he has never missed the bus. It's really frustrating when he does, since I am in the middle of getting myself and the girls ready for school. I don't talk to him much on the way, for two reasons I'm usually taking my medicine (at the red lights) and eating an energy bar, and I want to talk to him logically instead of out of anger. When we got home from school that afternoon he was not home. Very unusual. I tried calling his cell phone but had to leave a message. I call P at work to see if he knew anything, he doesn't. I had a doctor's appointment and had to leave. I left S in charge of R and told her to call me if he came home. Surprisingly enough my blood pressure was almost normal and the appointment was fast. I tried calling J again 3-4 more times during this time and checked in with S twice. I had tried calling the school before I left home but couldn't get anyone but I could have left voice mails on all the office numbers! I started driving to J's school after my appointment, because now it's 4:40 and I'm really starting to get a little freaked out. I have my cell phone in my hand, and just before I reach the school he calls. He had asked me about doing wrestling this year, and I had filled out the paperwork, but he had failed to tell me when practice was/started. Yep, that's where he was. I was way more relived that he was OK than angry, but we did talk about both missing the bus and this when we got home, and he had to do extra chores for missing the bus. Not that that helped on Tuesday when he missed the bus again, grrr. Tuesday afternoon, I had to see my heart doctor, and had my blood levels checked. It was very high. I guess I know why I've been feeling off lately, and bruising easier. He was pretty concerned, and wants to me come back in 2 weeks to retest, and then see him 2 weeks after that. He doesn't want it to get too high and that it lands me in the hospital. Nor do I want that to happen. Finally on Thursday some fun happened. P and I went out for dinner then saw Changeling, it was very good. I was out of my prescription sleeping pill and so I thought taking 2 over the counter ones would help me sleep. They did not work at all. I wasn't the least bit groggy, and not getting any sleep does not help the body fight a cold. Yesterday P and I took the girls to see Madagascar 2, other than the mean old lady it was good. (J was spending the night at my sister's so he could get up early today to go fishing with his uncle) I gage that on not falling asleep during the movie, even with no sleep the night before. After the movie we went to Fry's and picked up my prescription. I had no trouble sleeping last night. I have no idea why I can't sleep without them, no matter how tired I am. R had to sit though S's dance classes this morning, since J wasn't home and P had to work at 9 today (now that's unusual too!)S got invited to help grandpa today, he picked her up from the dance studio and so she didn't have to sit through R's classes. But I got to sit thought all 4, and now I get to do laundry.

Sunday, November 2, 2008

Note to self

Check your own pockets for things before you wash clothes. Otherwise you might find redish lipstick all over all the clothes you just washed. Which ruins quite a bit of clothes.

Saturday, November 1, 2008

Halloween

Because my kids attend public school, they don't get to dress up on Halloween, they do get to have a fall festival party, and kindergarten kids can dress up in fairy tail characters. Since I spend my day with a kindergartner, I had to dress up too. I really wanted to find a red cap with a hood and be Little Red Riding Hood. no such like, except for a very sexy looking one that would not be OK for school. Therefore I ended up dressing as the Evil Step Mother from Cinderella. It was fun dressing up and walking around campus, all the upper grades come out and watch the parade. It made me feel special when students would call out my name. I think we all need to feel special, makes the bad days so much better. After dinner S and R went out trick or treating, S as a baseball player her costume from the last dance recital. R wore the baseball costume of S's for the recital 2 years ago. I didn't take any pictures :( They went up and down our street and were done. before I could get my camera they were out of the costumes. But I added a few of R in the Hannah Montana wig she wore to my flikr pictures soon.

Time spent and money too

Dropped S off at dance at 9 this morning, then went to the grocery store. I have been avoiding this trip because I knew I would be spending lots of money. I really try to only go to the grocery store myself every 3 weeks or longer if I plan right. Since P works at a grocery store, he can keep us supplied with milk and bananas, and if a few things are needed we'll just call him to bring it home, because if I go to the store I will find other things that are on sale and buy more than just what I needed. This way we save money. Dropped off the groceries, and picked up R for dance. S and I went to Khol's, next week is spirit week at school. S needed pajamas for Monday's pajamas day. We looked around a little spending some time together, then we stopped and got drinks and burgers at Sonic (love the 99 cent large drink all day deal they have right now and I had a BOGO free burger coupon). Dropped S off at home, then went to the dance studio to spend a little time watching R. We went home and worked on a few loads of laundry. P went to work. R was bored. S was going to go spend the night with her oldest cousin. So R and I went to Saver's and I got a brand new Lucy looking gown (Narnia's Lucy)for R 50% off. And we found some prairie skirts for hippie day on Friday. R and I went to eat (see previous post) Then we went to the Halloween store near our house, we found some hippie colored glasses, a fringed vest, and a peace sign necklace all 50% off. When we got home, and we bought J back something to eat. R and I watched the American Girl Kit movie. It's been a fun day, spending time with my girls and spending money :)

plastic gloves

Used correctly, can protect food service workers from spreading germs. I'm thinking the gloves get contaminated more often then they are changed. For example tonight R and I went out for dinner to a fast food restaurant. I observed picking teeth, sticking hands in pockets, taking money, slapping other employees backs and preparing food, with out changing the gloves. And this person seemed to be the management on duty. Yuck, and I just ate there.

Sunday, October 26, 2008

Webkinz

My girls have this obsession with these toys and playing the games online. S more so than R, but between them they have lots. We have no diet soda in the house that is not expired (for the last 2 weeks). Expired soda tastes way to horrible to drink, not that I haven't repeatedly tried to. But after a sip, I dump out the rest. I guess I keep thinking it's not so bad and keep trying until that first sip, then I think, what was I thinking? I drink water all day long when I'm at school, I just want something with a little flavor and bubbles every once in awhile. Today I was desperate for a diet coke, that the girls and I stopped at 7 Eleven for a 44 ouncer. Who knew they sell Webkinz at 7 Eleven? I didn't have to buy any, but I did anyway, only one for each girl. 2 reasons, first I forgot to have S take her ADHD medicine today and I know it will keep her out of my hair so to speak, playing with a new character, and the ones they had were all retired ones and not easy to come by (so the girls tell me).

Friday, October 24, 2008

Busy week

P got home on Monday afternoon safely from hiking at the Grand Canyon with his Dad and brother. They actually were standing in the driveway when the girls and I got home from school. There wasn't much time for me to hear about his trip, since I had a meeting at church. Tuesday wasn't much better because I had my class. Wednesday was a little worse, with dance classes and bible study. Yesterday, he took J driving, and the girls and I watched "our" Thursday night TV (it's the only night I usually watch anything). Today I took a personal day, for S's field trip. It was to Junior Achievement Biz Town. The students work jobs in various businesses, like Papa John's, Cox communication, Wells Fargo, APS, etc. etc. It was pretty neat. I was the leader at the radio station, and S worked at the mall. This is a picture of her at her shop. P and I went out for an early dinner, and finally a chance to talk. We went to see The Secret Lives of Bees. I read the book awhile ago, and didn't really like it. But the movie? I loved! I don't think I have ever cried so much ever during a movie.

Friday, October 17, 2008

Stomachs

S got sick in the middle of the night. Therefore she missed chorus and school. When I told the music teacher why she missed chorus, she says we need to pray for her weak stomach. I think OK, so she threw up last year on stage during a chorus thing, and was sick last night, it's not like she's sick every week, or even all the time. But praying is a good thing. It just seemed weird when she said it. I left her home while I took J to the DVM for his permit test. She napped the whole time, so she was OK, by herself. I felt fine about J getting his permit until they called his name, after he took the test. Then I sat there and thought with a clenched stomach what if he passes? He'll be on his way to driving, YIKES! He did pass, and wanted to drive home, LOL, but I think maybe a few outtings in an empty parking lot, and use of the driver's ed simulator needs to happen first.

Wednesday, October 15, 2008

run around...slow day

J decides to ask me this morning for a ride to school. He says he can't take projects on the bus. He had his model volcano to get to school today. It wouldn't have been that bad to take him, but S also had chorus at 7:30, and I had R's conference at 8. P's car was in the shop. R had a dentist appointment at 9. P took her. But there was lots of running around way to early this morning. But then my day slowed way down, as in almost stopped. The student I work with most of my day was not at school today. I did silly begging for work jobs all day. Then at the end of my day, the student I have for the last 45 minutes, has a temperature and is waiting for his mom to come pick him up. Back to begging. After school there's much running around again getting P's car from the shop, getting girls to dance, trying to get homework done. No time to cook dinner, pizza carryout to the rescue, bible study starts in an hour. What a crazy mixed up day.

Tuesday, October 14, 2008

New trick in bed!

No not what you may think. Somehow I've been scooting down my bed as I am sleeping (taking my pillow with me), when I wake up I can't seem to locate the alarm to turn it off. The first time it happened it just seemed strange. But now that it's happening almost every morning, it's just plain weird. It was a nice long weekend. Friday night out to dinner with my in-laws for my brother-in-laws birthday. After 2 hours R was getting a little bored, so she said she was sick. We left, I wasn't really ready to deal with a melt down. Sat. J had to be at John C Lincoln for a ROTC project, at 9, at the same time S's first dance class start. J got to get dropped off early. I had a meeting at church at 10, left both girls at the dance studio. J called around 11 saying he was done. Since I wasn't he walked over to Jack in the Box to wait for me. Picked J up around 11:30, then S, dropped them both off at home, went back to the dance studio to wait for R to get done. J went to spend the day at my sister's. The girls and I went shopping. Justice to get boots, they had to have, and they were on sale 25% off, and I had fun bucks to save another $30. I'm having this trend eating fresh fruits right now, so we went to Sprouts too, and loaded up on some treats for the week. Read and played outside the rest of the afternoon. Then we made fajita pitas for dinner. P got home and we started to watch a movie, only I didn't last long. (I feel asleep) oops. Sunday was kinda another long day with church at 9 and then the girls and I came home and started laundry before taking S to her Snow Queen rehearsal. Got back for that then finished up the laundry, J got home from my sister's and we started to work on his volcano project that's do on Wednesday. Didn't get to bed until after 12. I was thankful for no school on Monday and we could sleep in. 9:30 wake up time was awesome. Reading was a big part of the day. S had to make a model of a plant or animal cell, and label the parts she spend hours working on it, I thought it looked pretty good. Can't wait until she's graded on it. I did have to drive out to Mesa yesterday afternoon to see my foot doctor. Because I am not completely pain free in the foot I had done, he gave me a shot of cortisone in it. I asked him to do the other one too. I did notice today and improvement in my right foot. This work week is crazy. I had a class after school tonight, that was supposed to get out at 8, but we were done a little after 6. The class concludes next week, and they said we would get out early next week too as long as we pass the test. Thursday and Friday are half days, but I still have to work full days. We decided to work late on Thursday till 6, then leave at 12 on Friday. Then I hope I remember to take J to the DMV for him to take the permit test. J is going camping with his scout troop leaving at 4, P will have left at 10 with his Dad and brother hiking trip across the Grand Canyon. It will be just me and the girls holding done the fort.

Sunday, October 5, 2008

Better

It was such a long week, with something to do every afternoon/evening this past week. P worked every night too (other than Friday) By then I was so tired. P was off all weekend, we were able talk about my frustrations, and his needing to help me. It's been a nice weekend, he's been off and helpful. I hope it keeps up. We went out to dinner just the two of us last night for the first time in what seems like forever. The weather has cooled down this weekend too, it's been lovely all around.

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

doctor office visits

This afternoon I had to go get my blood level checked. I made the appointment yesterday morning. The office front girl says "my appointment is tomorrow." But they did the test anyway. I was the only patient in the office, I'm so glad they could find a nurse to spare, to poke my finger. I have had so many of these done, I could probably have done it, if they would have let me. But the funniest thing was when I went to get on the elevator to leave, my doctor was walking out of it. Which isn't very funny now is it? But my first thought was that's about normal appointment with him! Usual appointments he's in and out in less than 60 seconds. On my way home I have to stop at the kids doctor's office to pick up S's prescription. There was a woman in front of me on her cell phone at the counter. I'm not sure who she was talking to, but it didn't seem to be related a child/sickness/doctor type thing but she just stood there hammering away. As the office worker rolls her eyes and I wait. You'd think she could have found somewhere else to stand and yak? Or better yet sit down and watch her 3 children. (I know this part because they left when I did)

Monday, September 29, 2008

In a funk-be warned I'm whiny

I have been really down lately, I am crying over nothing or things that would not normally upset me. Enough that I scheduled a doctor's visit to talk to her about this. Maybe my anti-depressant needs to change. I am felling totally out of control. Friday afternoon I did the grocery shopping for a few weeks, so I didn't have that huge chore on Saturday, even though I knew my feet would greatly protest. But some how I've got to figure out time for relaxing. All I did on Saturday was, take J to his ROTC thing, took the girls to dance, picked up J, and read. J even grilled the chicken breasts for dinner, and there was leftovers to go with them, so I had no cooking. Sunday we went to the first service, came home for S to get ready for her Snow Queen rehearsal, and I started laundry. Then last night I had a church event I had to attend as a leader of a bible study group. Hope by 8:30. The rest of this week and next will be more running around. Every afternoon is booked with something. And where is Pat in all of this madness? At Fry's working till 9:30 PM or later. I'm tried when do I get to sleep in. I need a break!

Monday, September 22, 2008

Prayers are helping and other randomness

The young girl, is doing better, she still has a many more surgeries needed, but she's stable. J turns 15 1/2 on Thursday. What this means to him is he get to obtain his drivers permit. I noticed last week, in the paper about a driver's education class, 12 weeks, once a week, 3 hours per night. He started tonight. I'm getting a wee bit tired already tonight and I'll have to go pick him up at 9. The calendar said Fall today, but the thermometer said 102. Bhaaaaaaaaaaa I actually sayed cool until at 2 PM, then walking around dropping students back to classes, and then bus duty turned on my sweat glands. EEK.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Poor customer service at restaurants

Seemed like a theme this weekend. Friday night we were out for dinner with P's family for his Mom and Dad's birthdays. A lot of the food was delivered cold. The waiter was not so good about handling this situation, to the fact it felt like he thought we were lying. And even when he brought back my sister-in-laws it was still cold. I ate some of my meal, at the restaurant, but it wasn't that hot. And a baked potato should not be cooked so much that it tastes like mashed potatoes. I brought home most of my steak and mushrooms and ate them for lunch yesterday, the meat was so fatty, GROSS I didn't eat much of it. Very disappointing. The manger and waiter didn't really seem to care all the much about making us happy, only to try to blame the kitchen. Today the kids and I went to JIB for lunch. The guy taking our order couldn't seem to stop filling up the little bags for future salad orders, to take our order or repeat that he got it right. He handed me the receipt and asked me to check if it was right. S decided she wanted something else, after I paid for everything else. The first order was called to us, pretty quickly, but my curly fries were very hard and cold. And my burger that I asked for extra sauce on, had extra mustard instead. I don't complain, just wipe the mustard off and ask J to go ask for some sauce and S's order. The manager didn't believe we ordered this item, and told him it belonged to someone else. What? They must have given it to someone else, because when I went to the counter and still had to fight with the manger, he got someone to start cooking the item. The manager never apologized for the mistake. He did get the sauce for me, but had to finish talking to the guy at the grill about something personal first, now my burger is also cold. UGH. The manger did at least bring S her food when it was done cooking, only she can't eat it because it's too hot, and the rest of us were done eating, and she was full because she ate most of my cold fries.

Saturday, September 20, 2008

Please pray

I have a huge sinus headache. At lease I don't have to go anywhere else today. This past week have been incredibly busy. But I wanted to ask for your prayers- a young girl from my neighborhood was hit by a van on Thursday afternoon. Yesterday they didn't know if she would make it. Today I found out she did and has made it through one of the many surgeries she will need. She is still in critical condition.

Saturday, September 13, 2008

No sleep

For the tired, well not much anyway. I couldn't figure out last night why I could not fall asleep. I had a sinus headache and took some Tylenol, before going to bed. Usually when I take Tylenol on top of my usual sleeping aid, (I usually take this at dinner, so I don't forget later) I am asleep before I can turn the lights out. Not so last night and I was too tired to try to figure out why that was, so instead, I just tossed and turned most of the night, (dumb reasoning I know, but I was tired) my headache did go away though. This morning I'm looking through my medicine storage container that I have to use, so I remember to take all the pills I take daily. All the pills for yesterday are gone, and I remember taking my medicine last night at dinner, I was stumped, if I took the sleeping aid why didn't I fall asleep? I look at today's assortment of pills and don't see that familiar little blue one. I guess if I don't put the pills in the storage container I don't take them either. Some how yesterday morning when I'm filling up the stupid thing up, and getting myself and 3 girls ready, for school I didn't even notice I had missed putting that pill in, and then didn't notice not taking it at dinner. I'm glad it wasn't one of my heart meds I forgot. But geez, I could also do without a burning throat today, because of lack of sleep.

Sunday, September 7, 2008

What to do? x2

S signed up for art club at school, every other Wednesday before school. Today she gives me a permission slip for chorus which meets twice a week before school on Wednesdays and Fridays. In the past chorus has been on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so I didn't think they would overlap, at the time I signed the permission slip for art club. She wants to do both, but really wants to do chorus. But I feel bad that she's signed up for art club, not knowing chorus was going to be on different days this year. Part of me thinks she should do art club because she already committed to it, but then I think that stinks, that she can't do both. And the art club is way cool, they actually do art, not like in art class were the students draw most weeks. But don't even get me started on this. I could go on and on about how frustrating that is as a parent and for the kids. And I have to work with this teacher, so I don't really want to make her mad. My second "what to is" is about the neighbor girl who's mother pays me to care for her before school. This child drives me nuts. Last weekend I felt trapped in my own house. She called every 30 seconds. If we didn't answer, (we only answered her call once all weekend) she'd call right back again, but never would leave a message. I knew it was her without caller id because if we didn't pick up, she would call R's cell phone. She knows she better not call my cell phone unless her house is on fire or a parent is hurt/not breathing and she needs my help. I've already been through enough calls from her, on my cell for her to be taught that, by me. This weekend has been better, so hopefully I got through to her about calling all. day. long. But I ask myself is this really my job? and where are her parents at? do they not realize that she is using the phone constantly? Then on, Tuesday morning my girls had orthodontist appointments at 7:30. P took them, the neighbor girl did not show up at my house before 8, when I have to leave for school. I didn't get a phone call to tell me she wasn't coming. After she called all weekend long, that made me so mad. I didn't call her, because really it's not my responsibility to call, it's her mother's, right? When I asked her about it she lied to me, and said her mom's cell phone and house phone batteries were dead, which I could almost believe since she was calling my house all weekend. But then the other neighbor girl asks, how girl #1 mom could call girl #2 her dad about girl #1 walking to school with girl #2. Did ya follow all that? It was not easy trying to get ready for work, listening for the door, and no one knocking on the door. No respect right?